About Us

A Meeting of our Board of Directors

The Indiana Jewish Historical Society is a 501(c)3 non-profit educational organization with a mission to collect, preserve, publish, and share the Jewish experience in Indiana.

Our stated mission is to preserve historical Jewish records, organize people to speak on the importance of maintaining Jewish historical records, develop a database and guidebook for archiving material, and print newsletters to notify and update members of current Jewish events and activities.

Our Board

The Board of Directors consists of members from around the state, serving two consecutive three-year terms (representing their communities). IJHS members vote to elect each Board member. The Board of Directors annually appoints our Executive Board, which consists of the President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer. Executive positions are limited to two 2-year consecutive terms. The IJHS employs an executive

President Melanie Hughes, New Albany
Vice President, Membership Barbara Goldman, Indianapolis
Vice President, History Jill Weiss Simins, Indianapolis
Treasurer Kevin Krulewitch, Indianapolis
Secretary Robert Phillips, Muncie
Board of Directors Irv Adler, Fort Wayne
  Sheila Greenwald, Indianapolis
  Gale Halperin, Indianapolis
  Lori Katz, Indianapolis
  John Planer, North Manchester
  Mary Tilden, West Lafayette
  Marla Topiol, Indianapolis
  Rosalie Gussow, Indianapolis
  Trent Pendley, Furnessville
  Alan Gilbert, Fort Wayne

Executive Director

Current Michael Brown, South Bend
2018-2020 Dr. Wendy Soltz, Fort Wayne
1995-2017 Eileen Baitcher, Fort Wayne
1972-1995 Joseph Levine*, Fort Wayne

Past Presidents

1972-1975 Max Einstandig*
1976-1978 Mary Fink*
1980-1982 Charles B Fine*
1982-1985 Martin Schwartz*
1985-1986 David Kleiman
1986-1989 David Fogle*
1989-1992 Earl Brenn*
1992-1993 Wynn Robin*
1993-1995 Arthur Meyers
1995-1997 Richard Friedman
1997-1999 Paul Bloomberg
1999-2003 Judy Koor
2003-2009 Trent Pendley
2009-2012 Alan Gilbert
2012-2017 Sheila Greenwald
2017-2020 Kevin Krulewitch

*z”l of blessed memory